Tie! Carrie Underwood and Thomas Rhett Both Win ACM Entertainer of the Year Award

The ACM Award for Entertainer of the Year ended in a tie for the first time in the 55-year history of the awards show.

Both Carrie Underwood and Thomas Rhett were named Entertainer of the Year in a surprising twist that closed the night’s show.

The ACM Awards aired live from Nashville on Sept. 16 with first-time host Keith Urban. The show took place at three iconic Nashville institutions: the Grand Ole Opry House, The Bluebird Cafe and Ryman Auditorium.

Entertainer of the Year (TIE)

  • Luke Bryan
  • Eric Church
  • Luke Combs
  • Thomas Rhett WINNER
  • Carrie Underwood WINNER

photos by Tammie Arroyo, AFF-USA.com