Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Includes Steve Earle, Bobbie Gentry, Brett James & More

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame announced its Class of 2020 on Nov. 2: Steve Earle, Bobbie Gentry, Kent Blazy, Brett James and Spooner Oldham.

The five new electees will follow in the footsteps of more than 200 previous honorees, including Kris Kristofferson, Guy Clark, Merle Haggard, Tom T. Hall, Buck Owens, John Prine, Tammy Wynette, Jerry Reed, Dolly Parton and more.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, the Class of 2020 will be inducted with the yet-to-be-named Class of 2021 on Nov. 1, 2021, at the Music City Center in Nashville.

Class of 2020 With Partial Songwriting Credits

  • Kent Blazy: “If Tomorrow Never Comes” [Garth Brooks], “Ain’t Goin’ Down (’Til The Sun Comes Up)” [Garth Brooks] and “Gettin’ You Home (The Black Dress Song)” [Chris Young]
  • Brett James: “Jesus Take The Wheel” [Carrie Underwood], “When The Sun Goes Down” [Kenny Chesney & Uncle Kracker] and “Summer Nights” [Rascal Flatts]
  • Spooner Oldham: “I’m Your Puppet” [James & Bobby Purify], “Cry Like A Baby” [The Box Tops] and “Sweet Inspiration” [The Sweet Inspirations]
  • Steve Earle: “Guitar Town,” “Copperhead Road” and “The Devil’s Right Hand”
  • Bobbie Gentry: “Ode To Billie Joe,” “Fancy” and “Mornin’ Glory”

photo by Jim Casey