Luke Combs Wins ACM Awards for Album of the Year and Male Artist of the Year

Luke Combs won ACM Awards for Male Artist of the Year and Album of the Year (What You See Is What You Get), marking the first time he has copped awards in the aforementioned categories.

Luke’s 2019 sophomore album features four No. 1 hits: “Beer Never Broke My Heart,” “Even Though I’m Leaving,” “Does to Me” and “Lovin’ On You.”

Luke is the first country artist in history whose first nine singles have reached No. 1 on the Billboard Country Airplay chart. Of Luke’s nine No. 1 hits on the Billboard Country Airplay chart, eight have had multi-week runs at No. 1. Luke’s 2018 No. 1 hit, “One Number Away,” ruled the chart for one week, while “Beautiful Crazy” reigned for seven weeks in 2019.

The ACM Awards aired live from Nashville on Sept. 16 with first-time host Keith Urban. The show took place at three iconic Nashville institutions: the Grand Ole Opry House, The Bluebird Cafe and Ryman Auditorium.

Album of the Year

  • Center Point Road – Thomas Rhett
  • Girl – Maren Morris
  • Heartache Medication – Jon Pardi
  • What You See Is What You Get – Luke Combs WINNER
  • Wildcard – Miranda Lambert

Male Artist of the Year

  • Dierks Bentley
  • Luke Combs WINNER
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Keith Urban

photo by Tammie Arroyo,